Schuman Alert:Repeated Outfits Need Not Post!

Photo: Juan Naharro Gimenez/Getty Images

The Cut’s Charlotte Cowles latest post entitled “Scott Schuman Is ‘Not Really a Fan of Personal Style Blogs’ really got people talking with 57 recommends on Facebook and 57 comments. Personal style blogs are usually blogs that do just that capture a person’s personal style and/or inspirations. However, The Sartorialist, Scott Schuman often finds these blogs lack luster and a bit irrelevant.

He in an interview with  Style.com:

“I’m not really a fan of personal style blogs— you know, the ones [on which] these girls just shoot their outfits and all this stuff. I haven’t seen one that I really like or that draws my attention every day. The good and bad of that is that most these girls only have a limited wardrobe; they don’t have many clothes to shoot and I don’t think most of them have come up with looks that are that interesting, that draw me.”

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but all he has to do is not look at personal style blogs and all will be right with the world.  I don’t go crazy over personal style blogs but there are some that catch my eye. For example, I love Jane Aldridge’s blog Sea of Shoes because along with showcasing  her outfits and her shoe highlights she also posts the shoes that she is crazy over or the new shoes she  brought. Although, not all post may be exciting it’s interesting seeing what she likes.

Although, he isn’t fond of personal style blogs he sees them as a great leave behind; a digital scrapbook containing the trends and fashions of a time.

He continued on to say:

“I do think that it will leave a great social document for 100 years from now. A lot of these girls are just everyday girls from cities all over America and all over the world, and it will be great to be able to look back and say, “Wow, this is how real girls were kind of into that thing, dressed at that time.” And then maybe historically they’ll be able to pull out similarities. It seems like every girl, everywhere in the world, has a pair of denim cutoff shorts…but I don’t think it’s so much of a contemporary thing but what it will mean historically.”

We don’t need to wait 100 years. Hell, I look at what I had on yesterday and say, “What the hell was I thinking?”  If done right these blogs have the power to inspire people. I’m always wondering what to wear the next day.  What is all is old will be  new again, so there will definitely be similarities. Inspiration is one click away and that’s the beauty of a personal style blog.

The Sartorialist Ponders Street-Style Blogs As Social Documents, The Worldwide Ubiquity of Denim Cutoffs  [Style.com]

