Big and Bold

Vogue Italia

I never understood why size 8 is considered plus-size but welcome to the fashion industry.  After devoting a special section to ‘curvy’ women, Franca Sozzani puts three plus-size models on the June  cover of Vogue Italia. Fashionologie reports:

Sozzani  has cast a  trio of plus-sized models the magazines latest cover. No Crystal Renn, the current “plus size” du jour, in  sight- Steven Meisel, shot Tara Lynn, Candice Huffine, and Roblyn Lawley.

Finally, women with meat on their bones. Although, I was bothered about Vogue Italia’s ‘curvy’ section in my post Controversial Pages, I love this cover.  In an interview  with WWD , Sozanni said she didn’t want to shove diets down the throats of plus-size women and for that I applaud her.  It’s refreshing to see thicker women looking sexy and confident. The last cover featuring plus-sized model was 2000. Hopefully, there will be more covers like this.

