Manolo Blahnik’s New Crew?

Manolo Blahnik collaborated with J. Crew for their Fall ’12 fashion presentation.   George Malkemus, president of Manolo Blahnik USA told Footwear News the collaboration was months in the making.

However, the real news is that, Blahnik didn’t even know about the collaboration.

I have been approached so many times to do one, but I don’t want to work for a big company where I’ll have to have lots of meetings where I’m told what I can and can’t do. My niece, Kristina, handles that sort of thing for me – it’s just not for me. I was recently contacted by J Crew to do something with them, so I sent them over 45 pairs of shoes, and they announced we were doing collaboration. I had no idea about it!

The 41 shoe piece collection is based on Blanik’s  popular BB style. Malkemus says that the shoes are expected to sell both online and at selected J.Crew stores under the name Blahnik, for $595 to $645. [The Cut/Fashionista]

