Former J. Crew Head of Womenswear Is Launching her Own Line

All images courtesy of Fashionista

Guess who is striking out on their own!  Marissa Web the former head of womenswear is launching her own line. Although, you may have never heard of her those who shop J.Crew have been wearing her designs for years.

She has been the head of J.Crew since 2000 and she will be replaced by Tom Mara.  Webb will debut her line during fashion week this fall and launching in stores spring 2013. Her pieces will range in wholesale price from $125 for a T-shirt to $325 for a blazer to $1,500 for limited-edition dresses.  So will her line look just J. Crew?

In an interview  with Fashionista she said:

“A lot of people ask me, ‘Will your collection look like J.Crew?,’” she said. “The honest answer is, in my mind, no. But after being at J.Crew for 11 years, a lot of my own personal aesthetic is in J.Crew because that was my job. The same things that influenced me then influence me now.”

 

